Explained: What countries can Indians visit now and what are the travel restrictions?


With Covid numbers falling in many regions, many countries have eased restrictions and reopened their doors to travelers. However, as tourism activity reaches its peak and Indians seek to travel internationally, there are a variety of travel restrictions and restrictions that need to be considered, with each country having its own set of rules.

There are many countries that Indians are currently unable to visit due to travel restrictions and a lack of air services. Many others have their own travel and quarantine policies in place. In many cases, however, exceptions are made for certain groups of people such as heads of state, civil servants and bureaucrats in diplomatic missions, those with international student visas and flights within the framework of the Vande Bharat mission.

Newsletter | Click here for the best explainer of the day in your inbox

Are Indians now allowed to visit foreign countries?

India has extended its ban on international commercial flights to July 31st. Currently, commercial flights are allowed to and from countries with which India has bilateral bubble agreements.

India currently has a bilateral bubble agreement with 28 countries including Afghanistan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Canada, Ethiopia, France, Germany, Iraq, Japan, Kenya, Kuwait, the Maldives, Nepal, the Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Qatar, Russia , Rwanda, Seychelles, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Great Britain, Uzbekistan and USA.

However, some of these countries banned air travel to and from India as part of the second wave of the pandemic. These included Australia, Bangladesh, Canada, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Iran, Italy, Kuwait, New Zealand, Oman, Saudi Arabia, Singapore and the United Arab Emirates.

Some of these countries later lifted travel bans.

Which countries are Indians currently unable to travel to?

Given the restrictions on international travel given the surge in Covid cases due to the Delta variant, there are many countries that Indians are currently not allowed to travel to.

The United Arab Emirates recently extended the travel ban from South Asian countries to August 1, which means that people from India, Bangladesh, Pakistan and Sri Lanka will not be able to visit the Gulf country for the time being. Emirates airline banned flights until August 1st and Etihad Airways has announced that it will extend the suspension of flights from India and two other countries to the UAE until July 31st.

Canada has also extended the suspension of flights from India until August 21, announcing that it will open from September 7 to people from all countries who are fully vaccinated with approved vaccinations.

India has been placed on the “Red List” of countries whose residents are currently denied entry to Great Britain. No new visas will be issued to Indians for travel to the UK. Even those with long-term visas cannot enter the UK directly from India and must travel to one of the ‘green list’ countries and spend at least 10 days there before heading to the UK.

In addition, no one who was in India for 14 days before traveling can now travel to the United States. However, there are exceptions for American citizens, students, and those who can be approved by the US Consulate under the National Interest Exceptions category.

Other countries that Indians are currently unable to travel to due to restrictions in force include Iran, Kuwait, Indonesia, Israel, Hong Kong, Singapore, Australia, New Zealand, Qatar, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Italy, Oman, and Djibouti.

In which countries do Indians not have to be quarantined upon arrival?

Most of the countries open to Indian travelers have mandated mandatory quarantine after entering their borders. The duration of the quarantine varies from country to country.

Countries that do not require mandatory quarantine on arrival for Indians include Kyrgyzstan, Afghanistan, Armenia, Maldives, Egypt, Ethiopia, Ghana, Mali, Mozambique, Namibia, Senegal, South Africa, Zambia, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Russia , Iceland, Costa Rica, Serbia, Equador, Paraguay, Venezuela, Nicaragua, Guatemala, Guyana and Honduras.

However, since the situation is developing rapidly in view of the rising Covid cases in many places, many of these rules are constantly updated.

If people want to visit any of these countries that are not among the nations with which India has a bubble pact, they must make their journey through countries with which India now has air connections.

Most of these countries, which do not require quarantine on arrival, require travelers to carry a negative RT-PCR report with them, with the test being carried out no more than 72 hours before departure. In addition, there can be additional protocols, B. the need to be tested upon arrival in certain countries. People who test positive are quarantined.

Indians who are fully vaccinated with Covishield are now allowed to visit 16 European countries as part of the EU’s “Green Pass” program.

Which European countries allow Indians to enter the EU under the EU’s “Green Pass” program?

After initial turmoil that Covishield was removed from the list of European Medicines Agency approved vaccines, the jab made by the Serum Institute of India is now accepted by 16 European countries as part of the Green Pass program.

These 16 countries are France, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, the Netherlands, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

The “Green Pass” program is the EU’s digital Covid certificate program that was created to restore freedom of travel for the public and remove entry barriers created by the pandemic.

The certificate is digital proof that a person has either been vaccinated against Covid-19, received a negative test result, or has recovered from the virus infection. The document is valid in all EU countries. The Green Pass program is designed to make travel stress free for people by removing restrictions, it is not mandatory.

Although people wearing the “green passport” are generally not required to be quarantined, there may be exceptions and each country can set rules and travel restrictions of its choice. Additionally, travelers may be required to provide a negative RT-PCR report with the test performed within 72 hours prior to the start of their flight and must undergo a mandatory Covid test upon arrival.

📣 JOIN NOW 📣: The Express Explained Telegram Channel

Those who do not have the certificate can still travel but are subject to the usual restrictions and quarantine rules that apply in each country.

What other countries allow Indian travelers but require quarantine measures?

Countries now allowing Indians to visit but having restrictions such as mandatory quarantine on arrival include Montenegro, Bahrain, Rwanda, Barbados, Bermuda, Mexico, Turkey, and Panama.

The duration of the mandatory quarantine varies from country to country. Additionally, many of these countries require a negative RT-PCR report, with the test being performed within 72 hours of boarding, and a mandatory Covid test upon arrival.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.